All Insight Dialogue Offerings

Date & Time Details: Tuesdays, January 16 - March 6, 2018. See dates and times by time zone, listed to the left.

Location: Online via Zoom

Address: Visit the Zoom website to set-up an account, download the software, and access tutorials, if needed.

Contact:
Gary Steinberg
gary@stonemountainmeditation.org

Space is limited: Due to the nature of online practice there are a limited number of spaces available in this cohort. Out of respect to all who wish to participate we ask that, before registering, you are committed to attending all sessions for the duration of the course.

Offered on a dana basis: This program is being offered in the tradition of dana. Participants are encouraged to explore the opportunity to practice dana, or the cultivation of generosity and giving. Participants may offer a donation to Gary at any point they feel moved; there is no correct sum or time to give. If so moved, donations can be offered by visiting our Giving page.

For more from Gary on the practice of dana, please visit his website.

Exploring the Seven Factors of Awakening

With Gary Steinberg

January 16 - March 6, 2018

In this eight-week online Insight Dialogue course we will experientially explore The Seven Factors of Awakening. These factors: mindfulness, investigation, energy, joy, tranquility, concentration, and equanimity, combine to offer the meditator a practical guide for the development of the mind. The potential fruit of this inquiry is a mind capable of insight and clear seeing (vipassanā). We will use the practice of Insight Dialogue, silent meditation, and contemplations carried into our everyday relational lives, to explore how we can cultivate a mind inclined to clear seeing and wisdom.

Participants will meet online in real-time via Zoom (web video conference) for 90 minutes on Tuesdays for eight consecutive weeks.

Weekly Practice Schedule
January 16 – Awakening Factors as a Practice System
January 23 – Mindfulness
January 30 – Investigation
February 6 – Energy
February 13 – Joy
February 20 – Tranquility
February 27 – Concentration
March 3 – Equanimity

Times by time zone
Tuesdays
9:30-11:00am US PST (Los Angeles)
12:30-2:00pm US EST (New York)
1:30-3:00pm BRT (São Paulo)
5:30-7:00pm BST (London)
6:30-8:00pm CEST (Amsterdam)

If your time zone is not listed, please use a timezone converter to determine your local time. Daylight savings time changes should not impact this offering.

Teacher

Gary Steinberg
Gary Steinberg is an Insight Dialogue Teacher. Over the years he has served many roles within Metta Programs, including Program Director for online offerings, Executive Director, and member of the Teachers’ Council. Gary teaches silent meditation, Insight Dialogue, Dharma Contemplation, and other forms of sutta study. In addition, he has taught…
Learn more about Gary Steinberg