All Insight Dialogue Offerings

Date & Time Details: Tuesdays March 7 – June 27, 2017 in North America and Europe (Wednesdays in Oceania). See dates and times by time zone, listed to the left.

Location: Online via Zoom

Address: Visit the Zoom website to set-up an account, download the software, and access tutorials, if needed.

Contact:
Gary Steinberg
gary@metta.org

Offered on a dana basis: This program is being offered in the tradition of dana. Participants are encouraged to explore the opportunity to practice dana, or the cultivation of generosity and giving. Participants may offer a donation to Gary at any point they feel moved; there is no correct sum or time to give. If so moved, donations can be offered by visiting our Giving page.

For more from Gary on the practice of dana, please visit his website.

Dharma Contemplation Group

With Gary Steinberg

March 7 - June 27, 2017

In the structured meditation practice of Dharma Contemplation (dhamma in Pali), the wisdom we are contemplating comes directly from the Buddha via his oral teachings, which have been passed down in the Pali texts for two thousand years.

Gary will be offering an ongoing Dharma Contemplation group. We’ll begin with a 17-week exploration of Gil Fronsdal’s The Buddha before Buddhism: Wisdom from the Early Teachings, a translation of the Aṭṭhakavagga, or “Book of Eights.” The Book of Eights is believed by scholars to be among the earliest of written Buddhist texts, and in it we find the Buddha’s teaching pared down to its most uncomplicated essence. Gil Fronsdal’s translation and commentary reveals the text’s central concern to be the joy that comes from recognizing and letting go of attachment to the illusory views that create suffering.

Each week we will explore a new chapter of the translation, using the five distinct practice phases of Dharma Contemplation. Supported by silent meditation at the beginning and end of each session, we will be guided, step-by-step, moving from engagement with just the words of a selected passage, to the emotional resonances it evokes. We will investigate the meaning using Gil Fronsdal’s commentary as well as our own understandings. Finally, setting the text aside, we will sense how the essence of the text comes to life now, for each of us. We will use our final session together to reflect on our learning and further integrate the teachings into our lives.

Each 2-hour session will include silent meditation, as well as Dharma Contemplation practice. It is recommended that participants of this program purchase Gil Fronsdal’s book to reflect on between sessions. Fronsdal, Gil. The Buddha before Buddhism: Wisdom from the Early Teachings. Boulder: Shambhala, 2016.

Participation and Drop-in Registration
Participants should be comfortable meeting online in real-time via Zoom (web video conferencing).

Familiarity with contemplative practice is beneficial, but specific experience with Dharma Contemplation is not necessary for participation.

It is recommended, though not required, that participants attend all sessions. Registration will remain open for the duration of the program, meaning participants are invited to join anytime during the duration of the course, from March 7 through June 27, 2017. You only need to register once via the “Register Now” button on this page. Once your registration has been received, we will email information about how to participate, including a link to the Zoom meeting room, which you can bookmark for easy weekly access.

Times by Time Zone and Daylight Savings Time Changes
North America – Tuesdays
March 7 – June 27, 2017
12:00-2:00pm US PST (Los Angeles)
3:00-5:00pm US EST (New York)

Europe – Tuesdays
March 7, 2017 and
March 28 – June 27, 2017
8:00-10:00pm BST (London)
9:00-11:00pm CET (Amsterdam)

March 14 & 21, 2017*
7:00-9:00pm BST (London)
8:00-10:00pm CET (Amsterdam)

Oceania – Wednesdays
March 8, 2017
7:00-9:00am AEDT (Sydney)
9:00-11:00am NZDT (Wellington)

March 15 – 29, 2017**
6:00-8:00am AEDT (Sydney)
8:00-10:00am NZDT (Wellington)

April 5 – June 28, 2017***
5:00-7:00am AEST (Sydney)
7:00-9:00am NZST (Wellington)

* Please note that the US changes to daylight savings time two weeks before Europe, meaning March 14 and 21 will meet one hour earlier than the other scheduled dates for Europeans.

** US changes to daylight savings time

*** Oceania changes to standard time

If your time zone is not listed, please use a timezone converter to determine your local time (convert from Tuesdays at 3:00pm New York time) and note daylight savings time changes beginning in March.

Teacher

Gary Steinberg
Gary Steinberg is an Insight Dialogue Teacher. Over the years he has served many roles within Metta Programs, including Program Director for online offerings, Executive Director, and member of the Teachers’ Council. Gary teaches silent meditation, Insight Dialogue, Dharma Contemplation, and other forms of sutta study. In addition, he has taught…
Learn more about Gary Steinberg